Zur Hauptnavigation springen Zur Suche springen Zum Seiteninhalt springen Zum Footer springen

Supervisory Board

An honorary position against hunger and poverty.

Specialists in the areas of nutrition, social issues and development, economists, human beings – our Supervisory Board consists of voluntarily acting experts who have one thing in common: the desire to end hunger and poverty im the world.

Under the direction of President Marlehn Thieme, the board is overseeing the work of the Executive Board internally, as well as representing the organisation externally.

Marlehn Thieme, President

Marlehn Thieme has been president of Deutsche Welthungerhilfe e.V. since 2018. She chairs the ZDF Television Council and the supervisory board of a co-operative bank. She is also a member of the Council of the Evangelical Church in Germany. A lawyer who has been involved in various foundations, Marlehn Thieme held a number of leadership positions at Deutsche Bank until 2013. She also spent 15 years advising the German federal government as member and chairwoman of the Council for Sustainable Development.

Prof. Dr. Joachim von Braun, Vice President

An agricultural economist, Prof. Dr. Joachim von Braun is a director at the Centre for Development Research at the University of Bonn and a professor of economic and technological change. He has been vice president of Welthungerhilfe since 2012. In addition, he is the president of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences and the chairman of the Scientific Group for the 2021 Food Systems Summit of the UN.

Dr Bernd Widera, Director Finance Committee

Dr. Bernd Widera has been chairing the Welthungerhilfe Finance Committee since November 2019. An independently wealthy lawyer, he served on the executive board of RWE Deutschland AG for several years. He is also a member of the board of trustees of the Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics and a member of the AMOS business club at Kommende, the social institute of the archdiocese of Paderborn.

Amadou Diallo, Supervisory Board

Amadou Diallo is the CEO of DHL Global Forwarding Middle East & Africa and the founder of Saloodo GmbH. He is also the chairman of the executive board of the NGO Amref, the founder of the Bamouna Ba foundation, and a member of the executive boards of both Africa 2.0 and Schiller International University in Paris. In November 2016, he was appointed to the Welthungerhilfe Supervisory Board.

Prof. Dr. habil. Conrad Justus Schetter, Supervisory Board

Prof. Dr. habil. Conrad Justus Schetter is a professor of conflict and peace research at the University of Bonn and director of research at the Bonn International Centre for Conversion (BICC). He previously served as acting director at the Centre for Development Research (ZEF) at the University of Bonn. He joined the Welthungerhilfe Supervisory Board in November 2016.

Dr. Annette Niederfranke, Supervisory Board

Dr. Annette Niederfranke, ret. undersecretary, is the director of the German branch of the International Labour Organisation. Until 2014, she was the undersecretary of the German Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (BMAS), before which she had served in leadership positions within BMAS and in the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women, and Youth, ultimately as a head of department (junior only to the undersecretary in rank).

Carl-Albrecht Bartmer, Supervisory Board

After completing an agricultural apprenticeship, Carl-Albrecht Bartmer studied agricultural sciences at Georg August University in Göttingen from 1984 to 1989. Upon graduating, he managed a seed farm in Schleswig-Holstein for two years. Since 2018, Carl-Albrecht Bartmer has chaired the supervisory board of DLG, before which he was the president of DLG from 2006 to 2018. Carl-Albrecht Bartmer has been operating a working farm in Sachsen-Anhalt since 1991.

Last Update 26.11.2020

Related content